ICA welcomes new COOP ELGA from Honduras

LONDON – Cooperativa de Ahorro y Credito ELGA [ COOP ELGA ] from Honduras is the latest member to join the International Cooperative Alliance [ICA].

COOP ELGA was initially set up in 1963 to provide financial services to employees of the US Agency for International Development and the International Agency for Development.

In 1988 the employees converted the business into a savings and credit cooperative that is now open to the public. They joined the ICA to access training for members, employees and stakeholders, form alliances with other cooperatives and exchange best practices.

Associação Moçambicana para Promoção do Cooperativisim Moderno [AMPCM] from the Mozambique also transitioned from Associate to full Member.

The ICA has now 316 member organisations of which 274 are full members and 42 are Associate Members from 106 countries.

ICA  unites, represents and serves cooperatives worldwide.

Founded in 1895, it is one of the oldest non-governmental organisations and one of the largest ones measured by the number of people represented: 1 billion cooperative members on the planet.

It is the apex body representing cooperatives, which are estimated to be around 3 million worldwide, providing a global voice and forum for knowledge, expertise and co-ordinated action for and about cooperatives.

The global cooperative network

More than 310 organisations from 107 countries are members of the International Cooperative Alliance.

The ICA’s members are international and national cooperative organisations from all sectors of the economy, namely agriculture, banking, consumer, fisheries, health, housing, insurance, and industry & services.

Buy your copy of thecooperator magazine from one of our country-wide vending points or an e-copy on

Related Articles

Back to top button